Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 1
Dramatic, dreamy & defiant
Utah Symphony
Thursday, February 1, at 7:30 PM
📍Browning Center at WSU

Conductor Jun Märkl makes his Utah Symphony debut, leading us through legendary tales and dream-like realms, including Prokofiev’s dramatic Violin Concerto No. 1 performed by Concertmaster Madeline Adkins. Often likened to a Russian fairy tale, Violin Concerto No. 1 floats on its ethereal first movement before flying into unpredictable turns like virtuosic plot twists. Along with Dvořák’s rich landscape In Nature’s Realm, this evening is book-ended by two Strauss tone poems about iconic characters: a raucous treatment of the Scottish tragedy Macbeth and the riotous adventures of medieval German trickster Till Eulenspiegel. Take in an otherworldly night out with your Utah Symphony February 1.